
 
Continuing Education (CE) For Renewal – APRNs1 

Section 4723.24, Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 
Chapter 4723-14, Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 

 Chapter 4723-8, OAC 
 
This document provides FAQs regarding CE requirements for renewal in 2019. HB 216, effective April 6, 
2017, established licensure for APRNs and CE requirements for APRN license renewal.  

 
Definitions 

 
CE is defined as a learning activity that builds upon a prelicensure or precertification education program 
and enables a licensee or certificate holder to acquire or improve knowledge or skills that promote 
professional or technical development to enhance the licensee’s or certificate holder’s contribution to 
quality health care and pursuit of health care career goals. Rule 4723-14-01(J), OAC. 
 
Category A is CE directly related to the Ohio Nurse Practice Act and the administrative rules of the Ohio 
Board of Nursing.  To qualify as Category A, the CE must be approved by an Ohio Board of Nursing 
(OBN) approver or offered by an OBN approved provider unit headquartered in the state of Ohio. Rule 
4723-14-01(E), OAC. 
 

General CE Questions/Requirements  
 

Q: For the 2019 renewal period, what are the CE requirements to renew an Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurse (APRN) license?  
A:  For the first period of renewal immediately following the initial issuance of the APRN license, the 
APRN is not required to complete any contact hours of CE (Rule 4723-8-10(B)(3), OAC). APRN-CRNAs, 
APRN-CNPs, APRN-CNMs, and APRN-CNSs must meet the requirements to maintain their national 
certification, with the exception of CNSs who were originally issued a COA on or before December 31, 
2000 and are not nationally certified.  
 
Q:  Are CNSs who were originally issued a COA on or before December 31, 2000, and who are not 
nationally certified, required to complete their additional 12 hours of CE in order to renew in 
2019? 
A:  No.  The 12 additional CE hours (Rule 4723-8-10(E), OAC) are not required in order to renew in 
2019.  The 12 additional CE hours (Rule 4723-8-10(E), OAC) will be required in order to renew in 2021. 
 
Q: What are the CE requirements to renew as an APRN in 2021?  
A: CE contact hours must be completed on or between November 1, 2019 and October 31, 2021   to 
renew the APRN license by October 31, 2021.  Beginning on November 1, 2019, APRNs must complete 
24 hours of CE for each APRN license held.  For an APRN-CNP, APRN-CNS, or APRN-CNM, at least 12 
of the 24 contact hours must include CE in advanced pharmacology (Section 4723.24 (C), ORC).  The 
24 hours of CE required to renew each APRN license are in addition to the 24 hours of CE required to 
renew the RN license.  
 
	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  
1 Information on CE requirements for RNs, LPNs, OCDTs, Medication Aides, and Community Health Workers renewal are 
posted on the Board website at www.nursing.ohio.gov.  
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Q: Will the CE completed to maintain APRN national certification count as the required CE hours 
for RN licensure? 
A:  Yes.  The contact hours of CE completed for APRN national certification may be used as the required 
hours for RN licensure if the hours meet the CE requirements specified in Chapter 4723-14, OAC 
(Section 4723.24 (C), ORC).  The Board will accept contact hours that are consistent with the CE credit 
awarded by the national certifying organization.  
 
Q: What activities/events meet Board requirements for nursing CE? 
A: The following summarizes the activities/events that meet the Board requirements for CE. See Rule 
4723-14-05(A), OAC. 
 

• A CE activity approved by an OBN approver or provided by an approved provider unit (see list in 
the response below);  

 
• A CE activity approved by a board or agency regulating the licensee or certificate holder in 

another jurisdiction; 
 
• A CE activity approved or provided by a nationally recognized accreditation system of CE, for 

example, the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the Accreditation Council for 
Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the International Association for Continuing Education 
and Training (IACET)), or a national certifying organization that meets the requirements in 
Section 4723.46(A), ORC; 

 
• Academic credit for successful completion of a course taken through an accredited educational 

institution, for example, a college course. The conversion from academic credit to CE is as 
follows:  

1 credit hour in a quarter system = 10 contact hours of CE 
1 credit hour in a trimester system = 12 contact hours of CE 
1 credit hour in a semester system = 15 contact hours of CE 

 
• An independent study defined as a self-paced learning activity for which contact hours may be 

awarded that includes both a mechanism for evaluation of learning and feedback to the learner; 
 

• Inter-professional CE that is a planned, organized learning experience designed for a target 
audience made up of members of two or more different professions; 

 
• A CE activity approved by a board or an agency that regulates a health care profession or related 

discipline in Ohio or another jurisdiction, such as the State of Ohio Medical Board, State of Ohio 
Board of Pharmacy, State Board of Psychology, and the Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage 
and Family Therapist Board. 

 
Q: I understand that hours worked as a volunteer may apply towards CE for RN and APRN 
renewal, is that correct? 
A: A RN or APRN who serves as a volunteer for indigent and uninsured persons, without compensation, 
may use up to 8 hours of the volunteer service towards their CE requirements. One hour of CE may be 
awarded for each 60 minutes documented as spent providing uncompensated health care services as a 
volunteer. Documentation must include a signed statement from a person at the health care facility or 
location where the health care services were performed indicating the date and time the health care 
services were performed, that the recipient was indigent and uninsured and that the licensee provided 
services as a volunteer.   (Rule 4723-8-10(B)(4), OAC, for APRN Volunteer Practice) 
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Q: What activities/events do not meet the Board requirements for CE? 
A: The following summarizes the activities/events that do not meet the Board requirements for CE. (Rule 
4723-14-05(B), OAC), however there are some exceptions for APRNs2.  

• Repetition of any educational activity with identical content and course outcomes within a single 
reporting period; 

• Self-directed learning such as reading texts or journal articles that have not been approved as an 
independent study or awarded contact hours by an accredited or approved provider or provider 
unit; 

• Participation in clinical practice or research that is not part of a CE activity; 
• A personal development activity; 
• Professional meetings or conventions except for those portions designated as a CE activity; 
• Community service; 
•  Volunteer service or practice that does not qualify under Rules 4723-14-03(L) or 4723-8-

10(B)(4), OAC, as discussed above; 
• Board-ordered CE; 
• Membership in a professional organization.  

 
Q:   What is an OBN Approver? 
A: An OBN approver is an entity or organization headquartered in Ohio authorized by the Board to 
approve CE activities offered by a provider or to approve a Provider Unit. An acceptable CE certificate 
from an OBN approver that documents your CE event must include a statement with the OBN Approver 
name and number.  Current and recently closed OBN Approvers are listed below: 

• Northwest State Community College, Division of Nursing (OBN-008-92) 
• Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (OBN-010-93) 
• Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OBN-003-92) 
• Ohio League for Nursing (OBN-006-92) 
• Ohio Nurses Association (OBN-001-91) 
• Omnicare Great Lakes Region, Division of Education (OBN-009-93) 
• UC Health (OBN-007-92) 
• University of Cincinnati, College of Nursing (OBN-011-93) 
• UVMC – Education and Development (OBN-005-92) (closed 2018)  
• Licensed Practical Nurse Association of Ohio (OBN-002-92) (closed 2018)  

 
Q: May contact hours of CE be completed through independent study by mail or on the Internet? 
A: Yes. There is no limit to the number of contact hours obtained through independent studies. 
Independent study may be taken through mail order courses or the Internet.  

 
Q: Must documentation of the required CE hours be submitted to the Board when the APRN 
license is renewed? 
A: APRNs are not required to submit documentation of   CE hours at the time the APRN licensed is 
renewed. When renewing the license, the APRN must attest in the renewal application that the APRN 
met or will meet the CE requirement by the end of the renewal period.  
 
Q: What is a “waiver”? 
A: A waiver is a one-time opportunity to opt out of the CE requirements for one renewal period. A waiver   
is available only to RNs, LPNs, OCDTs and CHWs.  A waiver may only be used one time, and once 
	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  
2 For APRNs, Rule 4723-14-05(C) allows APRN CE for activities that may be otherwise excluded including: Section 4723.46(A), 
ORC, specifies the activity may include the following: (1) Self-directed learning such as reading or reviewing of texts or journal 
articles; (2) Participation in clinical practice, research or mission trips; (3) Professional meetings or conventions; or (4) 
Precepting, teaching or conducting public education courses. 
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requested on the RN, LPN, OCDT or CHW renewal application, the request cannot be withdrawn. 
APRNs cannot request a waiver for their required CE.  
 
Q: How will the Board know that an APRN met the CE requirement? 
A: The Board may conduct a random audit to determine compliance with CE requirements. If chosen for 
an audit, the Board will notify the APRN. If the audit pertains to the APRN’s RN license CE, the waiver, 
as explained above, cannot be used after the audit notification is received. 
 
Q: If audited, what documents must be submitted to the Board to prove that the CE requirements 
were met? 
A: Rule 4723-14-06(A), OAC, specifies the proof needed. An acceptable CE document must contain 
your name; title of the program; date of program completion; number of contact hours; the OBN Approver 
name and number, or name of the provider and the name of the authorized approver or the name of the 
approval body. For academic credit, a school transcript or grade report must include your name, the 
name of the school, and the dates attended, and credit hours awarded.  The transcript may be unofficial.  
 
Q: How long must CE records be kept? 
A: You are required to maintain CE documentation for six years. Each licensee or certificate holder is 
responsible for keeping track of their CE records for submission to the Board upon its request or audit.  
 
 

Additional Questions and Information 
 
CE: email ce@nursing.ohio.gov. 
 
APRN Licensure: email licensureAPRN@nursing.ohio.gov  
 
APRN Practice: email practiceAPRN@nursing.ohio.gov     
 
Access the law and rules referenced above at www.nursing.ohio.gov. 
 
“Subscribe to eNews, Facebook, and Twitter” at www.nursing.ohio.gov  
 
 


